Postal Carriers

mailman

Ahh Postal Carriers – the arch nemesis of dogs. 

On my travels I have witnessed many behaviours – from the laid back to the ultra paranoid. There is one in particular that I admire and would love to give a shout out to.  His daily route is the area around Chedoke Avenue.  He is NOT the typical postal carrier.  This man goes out of his way to meet dogs.  Most of the dogs in the area know him as the man that gives them treats.  He carries a large bag of dog treats and he makes sure every dog on his route gets one (if the owner agrees). 

When my K9 client spies him pulling up in his mail truck, she sits down and calmly awaits his exit from the vehicle.  She then puts her head down and walks towards him, finally sitting beside him to await her reward.  I always thank him (because my K9 client cannot in words).  We then proceed on our walk, my K9 client beaming with happiness (and a little strutting too).

This is what all postal carriers should do.  The paranoid guys and gals bring negative dog behaviour  upon themselves by exuding nervous energy – dogs feel this and respond in equally nervous ways. 

If you can’t beat’em, join’em.  Enjoy your weekend 😉

 

 

About k9tracks

Dog Walker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment